Thursday, July 19, 2018

RRP EPA-Authorized States: Registration Requirements for Renovators

After a contractor gets their lead renovation (RRP) certification, they need to make sure their business is registered with the appropriate governing body. For most contractors, that means they only have to register their company with the EPA. However, if you're a contractor working in one of the 14 EPA-Authorized "special" states, there's a few extra steps your business needs to take in order to be compliant with lead paint safety laws.

EPA-Authorized states are states that have been granted permission by the EPA to run their own lead-safe renovation program in lieu of the EPA's federal program. These state programs are either equal to or more stringent than the EPA federal requirements. These state programs also have their own bureaus for keeping track of lead work- so contractors have to register with them directly.

For EPA-Authorized states, there are two types of registrations they may be asked to complete:
  • Individual Registration: Refers to an application submitted to enforcing body after an individual completes the Lead Renovator training class.
  • Firm Registration: Refers to an application submitted to an enforcing body that denotes your company is a lead-safe firm and is licensed to perform RRP work. This is required even if you are a sole proprietor.
In all EPA-Authorized states, contractors are required to complete a Firm Registration. In some EPA-Authorized states, contractors must also complete an Individual Registration. Both of these registrations are required in order to be compliant with federal lead-safe laws. If an unregistered contractor performs work on properties containing lead paint, they can face thousands of dollars in fines.

The EPA-Authorized "special" states include: Alabama, Delaware, Georgia, Iowa, Kansas, Massachusetts, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Oregon, Rhode Island, Utah, Washington, and Wisconsin.

If you work in these "special" states, take a look at the registration requirements we've gathered below. For more information on EPA-Authorized states, check out some of our previous posts on special state reciprocity and special state renewal requirements.

Please note: all fees are subject to change.


EPA-Authorized State Registration Requirements

Alabama
Individuals performing RRP work in Alabama must register with the University of Alabama's Division of Environmental and Industrial Programs - the annual fee is $100. In addition, Renovators must work under an Alabama-certified contractor. This annual fee is $300, paid to the Alabama Department of Public Health. View Alabama website and forms.


Delaware
After class, individuals must register with the state which is a $100 fee (view DE forms). The training and certification are valid for 2 years. Individuals must work under a company that is registered via the DE RRP Firm Certification Application - this app can be completed online and is also a $100 fee and valid for 2 years.


Georgia
Individuals performing RRP work in Georgia must register with the Georgia EPD after attending class. The fee is $150, and it is valid for 3 years. In addition, Renovators must work under a Georgia-certified firm, which is $125 for 1 year, or $300 for 3 years. View Georgia RRP Application Forms.


Iowa
Individuals performing RRP work in Iowa must register with the Iowa Department of Public Health. This fee is $60 every year. Renovators must also work under an Iowa-certified firm. There is no fee for the firm certificate at this time. On their website, they show you how to register online through their portal (Iowa Firm Application & Iowa Renovator Application)


Kansas
Individuals performing RRP work in Kansas must register with the Kansas Department of Health and Environment Kansas Individual App. There is no fee at this time. In addition, Renovators must work under a Kansas-certified renovation firm Kansas Firm App. This fee is $200 for the initial firm certificate, with a renewal cost of $100 every five years.


Massachusetts
Individuals and firms performing RRP work in Massachusetts must register with the Massachusetts DLS (MA Renovator Application). The fee is $375, and it is valid for 5 years.


Mississippi
The annual Firm registration fee for MS is $350, paid to the Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) (Mississippi Firm App). Individuals performing RRP work in Mississippi must also register with the Mississippi DEQ after class (Mississippi Individual App). The first two individual Renovators at a firm can be registered with MS at no additional cost. After two Renovators, additional certified employees are $75 each. View updated fees and forms at the MS Lead Program Website.


North Carolina
After class, individuals must register with the NC Dept. of Health and Human Services. Contractors must also register to become a Certified Renovation Firm, and there is a yearly $300 fee. The Firm Certification must be renewed every year. View all forms at the NC Public Health Website.


Oklahoma
Firms must be certified to perform RRP work in Oklahoma. The firm fee is $300 paid directly to the Oklahoma Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ), and it is valid for five years - the application can be downloaded here: Firm App. Individuals do not need to put in a separate application to the state to become certified.



Oregon
Firms must be certified to perform RRP work in Oregon. The fee is $250 paid to the Oregon Health Authority and it is valid for five years. Or if you are a contractor registered with Oregon CCB (Construction Contractors Board) and you already have a contractor's license, the fee to become a certified firm is $50 and you should submit the Oregon CCB Lead Renovation Firm Application. Visit the OR Health Authority Website to learn more and view forms.


Rhode Island
Individuals performing RRP work in Rhode Island must register with the Rhode Island Department - the fee is $40 and is valid for five years. Renovators must work under a Rhode Island-certified Lead Hazard Control Firm. This fee is also $40 and is valid for five years. Visit the Rhode Island Department of Health website for more information and forms.


Utah
After attending the RRP class, Utah requires individuals to be registered for a fee of $110 per year (View Utah Individual Application). Firms must also be registered with the state as a Lead-based Paint Renovation Firm for $110 per year. Find more information visit the Utah DEQ Website.


Washington
Renovation firms must register with the Washington Dept. of Commerce and pay a $25 fee, which is valid for 5 years. Individuals who would like to perform RRP activities in Washington state but were certified by the EPA or other authorized state can do so by registering and paying a $25 fee, which is valid for 5 years. For current applications and additional info, visit the WA Lead RRP Program website.


Wisconsin:

Renovation firms must register with the Wisconsin Dept. of Health Services and pay a $75 fee, which is valid for 2 years. Registration can be completed online or by mail. Individuals who would like to perform RRP activities in Wisconsin but were certified by the EPA or other authorized state can do so by registering and paying DHS a $50 fee every two years, and attend the Renovator initial or subsequent refresher training every 4 years. Individuals who attended training out of state and have a valid training certificate can apply for reciprocity with WI via a $25 additional fee. View all WI Lead Renovation forms and further details at the WI DHS website.


To register for a lead renovation class today, visit Zack Academy. We offer the the most comprehensive online schedule for RRP initial and refresher classes, with easy registration.

No comments:

Post a Comment